Munis Chowdhuri of the Max Planck Institute for Extraterrestrial Physics, Munic, Germany was awarded the Parvez Guzdar Young Scientist Award 2012 for his contributions to the field of dusty plasma/complex plasma.

He received the award at the general body meeting of the Plasma Science Society of India (PSSI), which was held here recently, a release said.

The Parvez Guzdar Young Scientist Award was instituted in 2012 in memory of Parvez N. Guzdar (1949 – 2011) from the University of Maryland, who was internationally acclaimed for his seminal contributions to several areas of plasma physics.

It is given to scientists of Indian origin who are below the age of 35. The selection is done by a review panel based on his or her research contributions to plasma physics and controlled thermonuclear fusion, a release said.

The award is supported by the Parvez Guzdar Foundation and the Institute of Plasma Research in Gandhinagar. It carries a citation and cash award of Rs. 50,000.

During the plasma conference, two young scientists – Swarniv Chandra of Jadavpur University in Kolkata and Udit Narayan Pal from CSIR-CEERI, Pilani – were awarded the Buti Young Scientist Awards 2012 for excellence in research. This award carries a citation and prize of Rs. 10,000.

A total of 15 poster awards were also given at the meeting. PSSI joined hands with Pondicherry University to conduct the 27{+t}{+h}National Symposium on Plasma Science & Technology, which ended on Thursday.