: Over 300 persons took part in the district-level monthly sports competition, which concluded here recently. The tourney, organised by the Perambalur-unit of SDATN, was inaugurated by Maruthamuthu, District Inspector of Physical Education. It was held in athletics and volleyball for men and women. “The competition evoked good response and saw enthusiastic participation,” K. Dharmaraj, District Sports Officer.

The winners

Men: Athletics:

100 meter: S. Thyagu (Srinivasan Engineering College); 400 meter: J. Joseph Inbaraj (Roever Arts and Science College); 800 meter: Ramkumar (Roever Arts and Science College); 1500 meter: Ilangovan (Roever Arts and Science College); 5000 meter: Nehru (Government Higher Secondary School, Thungapuram); Long jump: Joseph Inbaraj; Triple jump: Joseph Inbaraj; Shot put: Raghavendran (Srinivasan College of Arts and Science); Discus throw: A. Rajesh (Thanthai Roever School); Javelin throw: V.M. Rahil (Srinivasan Engineering College); 4x100 meter relay: Srinivasan Engineering College. Volleyball: Thungapuram Volleyball Club.

Women: Athletics:

100 meter: K. Subashree (Dhanalakshmi Srinivasan Arts and Science College); 400 meter: A. Janaki (Government HSS, Arumbavur); 800 meter: Archana (Government HSS, Kurumbalur); 1500 meter: A. Anjula (Government HSS, Kurumbalur); 3000 meter: Archana (Government HSS, Kurumbalur); Long jump: K. Subashree; Triple jump: M. Kalaiyazhagi (Dhanalakshmi Srinivasan Arts and Science College); Shotput: M. Manjula (Srinivasan Engineering College); Javelin throw: M. Manjula (Dhanalakshmi Srinivasan Arts and Science College) Discus throw: Akshaya (Thanthai Roever School); 4x100 meter relay: (Dhanalakshmi Srinivasan Arts and Science College). Volleyball: Dhanalakshmi Srinivasan Arts and Science College.