: Election Commission's observers – S. S. Bains, V. N. Jithendran, Subash Chandra Goel and Anupkumar – on Wednesday inspected the centre for counting of votes polled in the seven Assembly constituencies of Dindigul district in the April 13 election.

Accompanied by the District Collector, M. Vallalar, the observers went around the P.S.N.A. Engineering College at Muthanampatti to inspect the arrangements made for counting of votes. According to an official press release, the officials were shown the arrangements for each of the seven constituencies – Palani, Oddanchatram, Athoor, Nilakottai, Natham, Dindigul and Vedasandur – for counting of votes and announcement of trends at the end of each round and results. No person, except the observers, would be allowed to carry mobile phones into the counting centre, the release added.

No person, except the observers, will be allowed to carry mobile phones