Only Parameshwar Naik has been made Minister of State

For the first time ever, Bellary district has been deprived of its due as there is no representation from the district in the Cabinet.

In all the previous governments, Bellary district used to have at least one Cabinet Minister. The only solace is that P.T. Parameshwar Naik, who is entering the Assembly for the third term, has been inducted as Minister of State.

In S.M. Krishna-led government between 1999-2004, M.Y. Ghorpade was a Cabinet Minister and Allum Veerabhadrappa and M. Diwakar Babu were Minsters of State. Later, Mr. Veerabhadrappa was elevated to Cabinet rank.

In 2008, when B.S. Yeddyurappa was the Chief Minister, G. Janardhan Reddy, B. Sriramulu and G. Karunakar Reddy were Cabinet Minsters, in recognition of their contribution to the formation of the first-ever BJP government in south India.

It has come as a surprise and disappointment to many that there is no representation for the district in the Cabinet, despite the Congress winning four of the nine seats in the district.

E. Tukaram, who is representing Sandur for the second time in succession, has also been neglected, which has also surprised many.

Mr. Tukaram, who is from Anil Lad’s group, was the lone Congress MLA in the district when eight of the nine seats were bagged by the BJP in the 2008 elections.

Mr. Naik is considered lucky to get a ministerial berth with the party sticking to its stand of not inducting any legislator facing charges.

Mr. Naik represented Harapanahalli (reserved) in Davanagere district but formed part of Bellary Lok Sabha constituency in 1999 and 2004. After the delimitation of constituencies, Harapanahalli was made ‘general’ and Mr. Naik shifted to Hadagali in Bellary district, which is reserved for the Scheduled Castes. He defeated Chandra Nayak of the BJP by 40,810 votes.