Special Correspondent

CHENNAI: Nagapattinam and Villupuram districts will receive the national award for best performance under the Mahatma Gandhi Rural Employment Guarantee Scheme. The award is being given for the year 2008-09. In total, 24 districts in 15 States will receive the award, of which nine States will get the award for two districts each.

For 2007-08, Dindigul, Sivaganga and Cuddalore were chosen. After the launch of the scheme in February 2006, it was extended to the entire State in three phases. So far, a sum of Rs.2,939.19 crore has been disbursed as wages in the State.

At a function in New Delhi on Tuesday, M. Jayaraman and R. Palaniswamy, Collectors of Nagapattinam and Villupuram, will receive the award.