Staff Reporter

In Nagercoil, Padmanabhapuram and Colachel municipal councils

Nagercoil: Even as the Dravida Munnettra Kazagam and its allies have secured a majority of councillors in Nagercoil municipal council, they could not win the membership of three committees.

The district secretary and Tourism Minister, Suresh Rajan, has announced Alagammal Dhas and Sivarajan for the election of Tax Revision Appeal Committee members, Sundar Raj for the member of Appointment Committee and Ramakrishnan for Contract Committee and allocated the remaining two posts to the Congress.

But the officially announced candidates of the Congress T.R. Selvam and Arulappan, Sahul Hameed (MDMK) and Nagarajan (AIADMK) had been elected for the Tax Revision Appeal Committee.

In Padmanabhapuram municipal council, there are 21 wards. Of them, independent councillors dominated various committee elections.

Hari Kumar, Subaja, Sree Kala and Senthil Kumar (all independents) had been appointed members of the Tax Revision Appeal Committee, Peer Mohammed Rafi of the Congress as the member for Appointment Committee and Viswanathan, an independent candidate had been elected member of the Contract Committee.

In Colachel municipal council, independents captured all the seven posts, including Seethai, Sheela Jayanthi, Johnlobus and Jhansi for Tax Revision Appeal Committee, Francis and Amala Dhas for Appointment Committee and Mariya John for Contract Committee.