Staff Reporter

ERODE: All political parties should cooperate with the district administration for peaceful conduct of local body elections, said the Collector, D. Karthikeyan here on Tuesday.

At the all-party meeting at the Collectorate, he said the election would be conducted on the basis of the 2001 census. In the district, election would be held in five municipalities, six grade three municipalities, 20 panchayat unions, 343 panchayats and 2,955 village panchayats. Elections would be held for the posts of ward members and panchayat presidents.

Regarding polling booths, the Collector said in the 2001 local body elections, 3,480 polling booths were established, but this time 3,501 polling booths would be set up in Erode. Of these 2,180 booths would be in village panchayats, 802 in town panchayat areas, 207 in grade three municipalities and 306 in municipalities.

The Collector said in the 20 panchayat unions 254 ward members would be elected and in municipalities and grade three municipalities 150 ward councillors would be elected and 786 town panchayat councillors would also be elected.

The Collector said the final list of polling booths would be published on August 14 and the final voters list on August 31.

Representatives of political parties and others may contact the PA to Collector (Panchayat Development) Kumar on 0424 2266766 or Mobile 94432 20328 and get election related information on all days.

Kavundhi Manivannan (AIADMK), S. Anbu (DMK), Ravi (Indian National Congress) P. Palani (Desiyavada Congress), A. Saravanan (BJP), Rajendran (PMK), S. Durairaj (CPM), K. Venkatachalam (CPI) and representatives from Bhahujan Samaj and municipal officials participated.