Special Correspondent

CHENNAI: The State government has announced the public holidays for 2009 on Tuesday.

January 1, Thursday – New Year’s Day

January 8, Thursday – Muharram

January 14, Wednesday - Tamil New Year’s day/Pongal

January 15, Thursday – Thiruvalluvar Day

January 16, Friday - Uzhavar Thirunal

January 26, Monday - Republic Day

March 10, Tuesday - Meelad-un-Nabi

March 27, Friday - Telugu New Year’s Day

April 1, Wednesday - Annual closing of accounts for Commercial banks and Cooperative banks

April 7, Tuesday - Mahaveer Jayanthi

April 10, Friday - Good Friday

April 14, Tuesday - Dr. Ambedkar birthday

May 1, Friday - May Day

August 13, Thursday - Krishna Jayanthi

August 15, Saturday - Independence Day

August 23, Sunday - Vinayaka Chathurthi

September 21, Monday - Ramzan

September 27, Sunday - Ayutha Pooja

September 28, Monday - Vijayadhasami

September 30, Wednesday - Half yearly closing of accounts for commercial banks and cooperative banks

October 2, Friday - Gandhi Jayanthi

October 17, Saturday - Deepavali

November 28, Saturday - Bakrid

December 25, Friday - Christmas

December 28, Monday - Muharram

More In: TAMIL NADU | NATIONAL