Fourteen men accused of possessing arms and explosives were convicted by the judge S. Mary Anselam in the First Additional District and Sessions Court here on Friday.

According to the prosecution, 11 men were sentenced to undergo seven years of rigorous imprisonment, one to undergo imprisonment for five years and two to undergo imprisonment for two years.

The gang was found guilty of possessing two country guns, bombs, knives and other weapons. The incident came to light after a team of police intercepted the vehicle at Deivaseyalpuram junction on Poovani road on March 26, 1998.

Following the incident, the Pudukottai police filed a case.

While P. Muthuraj (34) of Muthukrishnapuram, Tuticorin, M. Senthil Murugan (32) of Anna Nagar, Tuticorin, R. Kumar (33), R. Nalliah (32), P. Antony (34), S. Balu (34), S. Murugan (34) of Tirunelveli Town, A. Kannan (39) of Nachankulam, S. Pichumani (33) of Tirunelveli Town, S. Shanmugaraj (34) and S. Muniyasami (37) of the same area had been convicted for possessing country bombs under Section 5 of Explosive Substances Act and sentenced to seven years of imprisonment besides a fine of Rs. 1, 000 each; M. Raju (37) of Tirunelveli Town was sentenced to five years of jail term under Section 25 (1-A) of Arms Act and imposed a fine of Rs. 1, 000.

Besides, K. Raja (34) of Alangarathattu, Tuticorin, and S. Navaneethan (33) were sentenced to two years of jail term under Section -25 (1–B) of Arms Act besides a fine of Rs. 1, 000 each.

The case attracted punishment under Section 148 of IPC.