Inner Wheel Club president installed

print   ·   T  T  
THE TEAM: Vathsala Sridharan, centre, and her team. —
THE TEAM: Vathsala Sridharan, centre, and her team. —

Special Correspondent

TIRUCHI: Vathsala Sridharan was installed as the 34th president of the Inner Wheel Club of Tiruchirapalli at a function attended by various sections of the society held here on Wednesday.

Joint Commissioner and Executive Officer of Srirangam Sri Renganathaswamy Temple M. Kavitha, who was the chief guest, lauded the efforts of the club in serving the needy through its projects.

The need of the hour is proper interface with the socially and economically backward sections of the society and upholding of their rights, she said.

In her acceptance speech, Mrs. Sridharan assured to continue the good work done by her predecessors and strive to achieve new benchmarks.

The club has planned to embark on a new project for the special children with disabilities, studying in nursery and primary schools especially in the rural areas.

“While these children have a right to education, they also have a right to success in education, which is presently lacking”, she added.

Former District Chairman of the Inner Wheel Clubs Jambaga Ramakrishnan inducted the new members. Mrs. Kavitha presented ‘Lifetime Achievers Award’ to Mrs. Jambaga Ramakrishnan and Valliammai Muthuraman, former president of the club, in recognition of their outstanding service to the society.

Kayalvizhi Arivazhagan and Mrs. Kavitha released the Inner Wheel directory and Newsletter of the club respectively

Outgoing secretary Vadivu Srinivasan presented the annual report explaining the projects implemented by the club in the last one year.

Donation of a tricycle to a polio-affected person, distribution of saplings, educational help to a needy girl, distribution of uniforms and note books to poor students, provision of rice to Lubra Blind Home, assistance to women for their self-employment marked the occasion.

The following were inducted as other office-bearers: vice-president – Usha Kumar; secretary – Meenakshi Velleyen; joint secretary – Gomathi Renganathan; and treasurer – Nallammai Swaminathan.




Recent Article in TAMIL NADU

Congress downplays Karti’s refusal to explain

TNCC had issued a show-cause notice to him »