Special Correspondent

VELLORE: The Tamil Nadu Dakshin Bharath Hindi Prachar Sabha (DBHPS), North Zone, has urged the Central Hindi Directorate, New Delhi, to expedite the implementation of a pension scheme for the Hindi Pracharaks.

A resolution was adopted at a consultation meeting of the DBHPS, North Zone, held under the presidentship of S. Arunachalam, first vice-president of the Tamil Nadu DBHPS, at Cuddalore on Sunday, according to a release issued here by K. Raja, Executive Committee member of the Tamil Nadu DBHPS, North Zone.

Through another resolution, it was decided to contact P. Vasantha, Principal, DBHPS, Vellore, and Mr. Raja to meet the requirements of Hindi books and the application forms for various Hindi examinations in Vellore district.

The meeting requested the Tamil Nadu DBHPS to make arrangements for disbursement of the government grant for Hindi pracharaks in the respective branch offices.

At the general council meeting of the Tamil Nadu DBHPS held in Tiruchi last week, V. Chockalingam (Tuticorin) was elected president, S. Arunachalam (Cuddalore) first vice-president, S. Raveendran (Tiruchi) second vice-president and P. Chinnaiyan (Tiruchi) treasurer for the period 2008-2011.

The following were elected as executive committee members for the various zones:

Central Zone - A.V. Raman, P.N. Sethuraman, K.S. Mohan and S. Palanikumar; north zone - K. Raja, C. Kushalraj, J.S. Krishnamoorthy and G. Meenakshisundaram; south zone - O. Suruli, R.S. Chelliah, P. Subramaniam and S. Mahalingam; west zone - R. Jayakaran, G. Ramadoss, C.M. Annamalai and M.V. Hariharan.