M.P. Nirmala has been appointed Secretary, Co-operation, Food and Consumer Protection Department. She is the third secretary for the food and civil supplies department after the All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) took over in May.

In the latest reshuffle of IAS officers, T.N. Ramanathan, the previous food secretary, has been transferred and posted as Commissioner of Indian Medicine and Homeopathy. P.M. Basheer Ahamed, formerly Chairman and Managing Director, Tamil Nadu Minerals Limited, has been posted as Commissioner of Civil Supplies and Consumer Protection.

Jayashree Raghunandan, Project Director, Sarva Shiksha Abhiyan, has been posted as Commissioner of Land Reforms. A. Mohammed Aslam will be the new Project Director of Sarva Shiksha Abhiyan. S. Thangaswami, formerly Commissioner for Disciplinary Proceedings, Coimbatore, has been posted as Commissioner of Minorities Welfare.

Harmander Singh, Commissioner of Minorities Welfare, is transferred and posted as Industries Commissioner and Director of Industries and Commerce. Ka. Balachandran, Commissioner of Civil Supplies, is posted as Chairman and Managing Director, Tamil Nadu Cements Corporation Limited vice P.W.C. Davidar. C. Kamaraj, formerly Erode district collector, has been posted as Managing Director of Tamil Nadu Salt Corporation Limited.