The Tiruchi Humour Club celebrated its 15th anniversary on Sunday at the K.A.P. Viswanatham Higher Secondary School in a befitting manner. It felicitated four Tamil scholars — P. Namasivayam, K. Sathyaseelan, A. Arivoli, and R. Shanmugavadivel.

Tiruchi N. Siva, former MP, conferred the titles, presented cash awards, and mementos to the scholars on behalf of the club. A. Arivoli was conferred the title “Muthamizh vithagar”.

As he was indisposed, his son received the honours on his behalf. ‘Tirupathur’ P. Namasivayam was conferred with the title “Painthamizh Peraasaan”, K. Sathyaseelan — “Iyatramizh vithagar”, and R. Shanmugavadivel — “Nagaichuvai vendhar”.

The award winners thanked the club for the recognition given to their services towards enrichment of the language. M. Muthiah, Editor, Namadhu Nambikai , felicitated the award-winners for acting as catalyst to the future generation of speakers.

In his special address, Suki Sivam paid glowing tributes to the award-winners for their untiring efforts to keep the light of the great language glowing.

He made a fervent appeal to younger generation to give credit while quoting as a mark of respect to the elders. His speech reverberated with interesting anecdotes. Earlier, the function began with “Tamil Isai” by Mahalakshmi Kasturirangan. K. Sivagurunathan, secretary of the Humour Club, spoke.

  • Tiruchi Humour Club celebrates 15th anniversary

  • Tiruchi N. Siva, former MP, confers titles