The district unit of All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) celebrated the 64th birthday of Chief Minister and party general secretary Jayalalithaa by arranging a rekhla race which attracted entries from across the state, here on Sunday.

The competitions were conducted in three categories - big horses, small horses and new horses. Since the response to the new horses was immense, the group was sub-divided into two, and the organisers decided to award prizes to winners in two batches for the same category. The response to the competition was overwhelming, and entries had come in from Karur, Tiruchi, Erode, Tirupur, Coimbatore, Madurai, Theni, Namakkal, Salem and Chennai district.

As the competitions commenced the horses scorched the race road from Vadivel Nagar to Punnam, and returned. In the big horses category Karur Shakti galloped away with the top honours while Tiruchi Sethu and Coimbatore Sharad bagged the runner up and third spot even as Erode Satheesh came fourth. In the small horses category Kumarapalayam Singaravelan bagged the first prize, followed by Palliyur Sivi Reddy, Woriyur Vekkaliamman, and Lalgudi Parveen who all made it to the podium. In the debut horse category the first batch saw a 1-2 winner line-up from the stable of Erode Chinnasamy while Kulithalai Masha Allah sealed the third spot