The District Collector, A. Suganthi has urged the government servants, who were engaged in the election works on the polling day, to deposit their postal ballots at the boxes kept in the offices of the returning officers by 7 p.m. on May 12.

In a release issued here on Wednesday, Ms. Suganthi said that postal ballot papers were distributed to 4,054 government staff who had applied for the same.

The counting of votes will take place at the Government Arts College for Women on May 13. The government staff who got the postal ballots should deposit the ballot papers at the offices of the returning officers of the Gandarvakottai-reserved; Viralimalai; Pudukottai; Tirumayam; Alangudi and Aranthangi constituencies by Thursday evening.

The postal ballots could not be deposited after 7 p.m. on May 12. The postal ballot boxes will be taken to the counting centre on May 13 morning. The ballots sent through post will be accepted at the counting centre from 6 a.m. to 8 a.m., the release added.