Tamil Nadu Bureau


and a former AIADMK MP are among the 38 aspirants who filed their nomination papers on the last day of filing of nominations in the district on Thursday. In all, 75 candidates have filed their papers in various assembly constituencies after the filing of nominations commenced, official sources here said.

The leader of the Tamizhar Bhoomi and former AIADMK minister K.P. Krishnan contesting on the BJP symbol filed his papers for the Thirumayam seat with A. Arutchelvan, Special Deputy Collector, Social Security Scheme.

Raja Paramasivam, a former AIADMK MP of Pudukottai, filed his nomination as an independent candidate for Alangudi seat. Former Minister and sitting MLA, A. Venkatachalam is the official candidate of the AIADMK here.

The following is the list of the candidates who filed their papers in Pudukottai district: Aranthangi: E. Karthikeyan (AIADMK), M. Kalimuthu (AIADMK-dummy), Mohammed Ali Jinnah (DMDK), S. Mohammed Hanifa (DMDK dummy), K.P. Hussain Beevi (United Janata Dal), M. Kathamuthu, P. Shanmugam, G. Ramanathan, K. Munusamy, R. Sivasubramanian, P. Saravanakumar and N. Mahalingam (Ind).

Pudukottai: M. Arumugan (Tamil Nadu Jananayaga Congress), M. Rajnikanth (United Janata Dal), A. Pandian, M. Paramasivan, P. Sugumar, K. Sathiyamurthy, Leo Ramesh and A. Vetrichelvan - all independents.

Alangudi: Raja Paramasivam and D. Sivakumar (Ind), R. Jeevanandhan (BJP), V. Ganesan (dummy BJP candidate), K. Karuppaiah (Bahujan Samaj Party).

Kolathur: N. Velusamy (BJP), A. Sakthivel (BJP dummy), A. Vadivelu, P. Murugesan and A. Palanivel (Ind).

Thirumayam: K. P. Krishnan (Tamizhar Boomi), R. Venkatesan (Tamil Nadu Jananayaga Congress), V. Karpagam (dummy Tamil Nadu Jananayaga Congress candidate) A. Radhakrishnan, R. Ravichandran, S. Narayanan and M. Subramanian (ind).


A total of 31 nominations papers were filed on the final day of filing of papers on Thursday. The aspirants included the leader of the banned Tamil Nadu Liberation Army (TNLA), Suba Ilavarasan who filed his papers as Independent for the Jayamkondam seat.

With this, the number of nominations has risen to 61 in all the Five Assembly constituencies in the district.

The following is the list of candidates who filed their papers on Thursday: Perambalur (res): K. Punitharaj (DMDK dummy); R. Stalin (Lok Jan Sakthi); R. Rajapandian (BSP); K. Baskaran of All India Tamil Makkal Munnetra Kazhagam (AITMMK), P. Neethiraja, K. Saravanan, and C. Pughazhendhi (Ind).

Andimadam: K. Pannerselvam (AIADMK); Krishnamoorthy (AIADMK dummy); M. K. Pannerselvam (DMDK); Subramanian and Vasudevan (DMDK dummy); M. Rajasekaran (BJP); K. Sekar (BSP); Madhiazhagan and Azhagesan (Ind).

Varahur (res): Sankar (BJP dummy); M. Pazhanimuthu (Lok Jan Sakthi); P. Jeeva (AITMMK); Sakthivel (Ind).

Ariyalur: M. Ravichandnran (AIADMK); Sumathy (AIADMK dummy); K. Sekar of Bharatiya Janata Party; M. Samidurai (BSP); M. Chandrasekar (Latchiya DMK); G. Sukumar, K. Mariappan and N. Maheshkumar (Ind).

Jayamkondam: Suba Ilavarasan, Kaviarasi Suba Ilavarasan and S. Ramesh (Ind).


Aravakurichi: Monjanur P. Ramasamy (MDMK), P. Kumarasamy (dummy), R.M. Dayalan, M.S. Mani and M. Raja (independents).

Karur: R. Selvaraj, Rama Murugesan, K. Balasubramanian, S. Vadivel, M. Murugesan, K. Bhaskaran, R. Pandian and M. Venkatraman - all Independents filed their papers.

Krishnarayapuram (reserved): M. Leelavathi supported by the SWATE women's organisation filed another set of nomination papers, Sivasubramanian (Dravid Vizhipunarvu Katchi), Anandan (dummy), P. Ponnusamy (Tamil Nadu Jananayaka Congress), V. Sivakami of Bahujan Samaj Party, P. Arumugam, Abhimannan, R. Kulandaivel, Marudai Veeran, S. Murugesan and A. Perisamy independents filed their nomination papers.

Kulithalai: Kadirvel of Samajwadi Party, S. Kandasamy, V. Chinnasamy, Bhoopathy, Mahendran and Erachi filed their nomination papers as independents.