Special Correspondent

TIRUCHI: The Consumer Protection Council - Tamil Nadu has urged the district administration to enforce meter-based fare fixed by the State Government for autorickshaws in Tiruchi and to desist from insisting on point-to-point charge.

The system of fixing specified fares has failed time and again and so it should not be enforced, a resolution adopted at the annual general body meeting of the Council held here on Saturday said.

The council urged the TWAD Board to complete the underground drainage works and commission the same by September 2007. The Corporation should keep residents informed about charges for individual connection and check irregularities.

The council pleaded with the Corporation to re-lay all damaged roads in the city at the earliest. The resolution criticised the re-laying of the stretch from Puthur Four Roads to Kumaran Nagar that was already in a good condition. This is a wasteful expenditure particularly when the road was to be dug for executing underground drainage works shortly.

The meeting appealed to the Union Finance Minister to direct all nationalised banks to extend the privilege of opening `frill accounts' that now open only to students to all non-income tax paying citizens. Under this account, there is no insistence of minimum balance and hence no penalty.

Yet another resolution urged the Railways to pay special attention to the demands in Southern Railways and allot sufficient rakes to run as many special trains as possible, particularly in the Madurai-Chennai section. The production of rakes may be privatised to meet the demand.

The president of the Council, R. Natarajan presided over the meeting. The secretary of the Council, S. Pushpavanam, in his annual report said the highlight of the activities of the Council was the successful completion of the effort to get the refund for 497 Chinthamani depositors a total amount of Rs.3.16 crores. The interest portion of Rs.84 lakhs would also be paid within two years. He explained about the steps taken to create consumer awareness among all sections of the society.

The following were elected as the new office-bearers of the Council for 2007-09: President: R. Natarajan; vice-president: S. Sridhar; secretary: S. Pushpavanam; joint secretary: Mohamed Isaque and treasurer: Vallikannu