Draft poll rolls for Salem, Erode, Namakkal released

Staff Reporter
print   ·   T  T  

Awareness programmes are being carried out in colleges

District Collector K. Maharabushanam (centre) releasing the draft electoral rolls for Salem district at the Collectorate on Tuesday.— PHOTO: P. GOUTHAM
District Collector K. Maharabushanam (centre) releasing the draft electoral rolls for Salem district at the Collectorate on Tuesday.— PHOTO: P. GOUTHAM

District Collector K. Maharabushanam released the draft electoral rolls for the district here on Tuesday.

The district has 11 assembly constituencies namely Gangavalli, Attur, Yercaud, Omalur, Mettur, Edappadi, Sankari, Salem (West), Salem (North), Salem (South) and Veerapandi. The total number of electorates in all the constituencies was 25,26,298 including 12,77,898 men, 12,48,210 women and 190 transgenders. In Gangavalli, Attur, Yercaud, Salem – North, South and Veerapandi women outnumber men voters. There are 2,983 polling stations at 1,056 designated locations in the district.

Addressing reporters, Mr. Maharabushanam said that public can have access to the draft electoral rolls available at the polling booths between October 1 and 31 and can carry out addition using form 6, deletion (form 7), and alteration (form 8) and change of address within the same constituencies (form 8A) by enclosing necessary documents as proof.

“Awareness programmes and distribution of pamphlets was done among college students for enrolment,” he added.

Special camps would be held on October 6, 20 and 27 for the convenience of the public, besides October 2 and 5 where public can submit forms in Gram Sabha Ward meetings.

Students who have completed 18 years as on January 1, 2014 and born after December 31, 1995 can register themselves as electorates by attaching their college mark statements along with the respective forms. Forms are also available


The district administration has identified 50 browsing centres to facilitate eligible voters to include and delete names, carry out corrections and effect change in address in the process of preparing the final voter list for the eight Assembly segments in its jurisdiction: Erode East, Erode West, Modakurichi, Perundurai, Bhavani, Anthiyur, Gobichettipalayam, and Bhavani Sagar.

After adding 4,643 voters and deleting 2,808 names from last year’s total of 16,55,175, the names of 16,57,010 voters find a place in the draft electoral rolls.

Awareness programmes were being carried out in colleges for inclusion of new voters, District Collector V.K.Shanmugam said on Tuesday after releasing the draft electoral rolls.

The list of voters in the draft electoral rolls would be displayed in the offices of the Revenue Divisional Officer, Municipal Commissioner, Tahsildars and at polling booths. The names of voters would be read out in the meetings of grama sabhas and residents’ associations, a release from the district administration said.

For voting eligibility, the applicants, to whom the forms for inclusion would be provided at the respective polling booths, must have completed 18 years as on January 1, 2014 - they should have been born before January 1, 1996. Applications from college students residing in hostels will be received only with endorsements from the respective principals. The final voters list would be released on January 6, 2014, the release said.


The draft electoral rolls for the six Assembly segments in the district was released on Tuesday. The total number of voters was 12,50,603, including 6,20,124 male, 6,30,435 female and 44 transgenders. It was released by Collector V. Dakshinamoorthy at the Collectorate here on Tuesday.

Mr. Dakshinamoorthy said that special camps to enrol new voters will be held in all the 1,475 polling booths in the district from October 1 to 31.




Recent Article in TAMIL NADU

Peace returns to villages after temple row

: After two days of tension over Dalit participation in two temple kumbabishekams , normality returned to villages o... »