DMDK entry makes it a four-cornered contest

Special Correspondent
print   ·   T  T  

K. Muthukumar to be its candidate in Sankarankoil

K. Muthukumar
K. Muthukumar

The by-election to Sankarankoil (reserved) Assembly constituency will witness a four-cornered contest, with the Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam (DMDK), led by actor Vijayakant, entering the fray.

On Monday, a day before the DMDK general council meeting, Mr. Vijayakant announced that K. Muthukumar, deputy secretary of the party's Tirunelveli (West) district unit, would be its candidate in Sankarankoil.

An MBA degree holder, Mr. Muthukumar, unsuccessfully contested from the Sankarankoil constituency in the 2006 Assembly elections, the first the DMDK faced after its formation.

Besides the ruling AIADMK, the DMK and the MDMK also have announced their candidates.

The DMDK was part of the AIADMK-led alliance in the 2011 Assembly elections. Cracks appeared in their relationship in the run-up to local body elections in October and the DMDK went to the polls along with CPI (M).

Subsequently, the war of words between Chief Minister Jayalalithaa and Mr. Vijayakant in the Assembly led to the snapping of ties between the parties.

Ms. Jayalalithaa said that her party would win the Sankarankoil by-election, despite the hike in bus fare and milk prices, and challenged Mr. Vijayakant to enter the fray and prove his strength.

Mr. Vijayakant initially refused to take up the challenge saying the ruling party would indulge in irregularities to win the by-election, but added that his party would contest the by-election if it was held under President's rule.

The by-poll was caused by the death of AIADMK Minister C. Karuppasamy.




Recent Article in TAMIL NADU

Karnataka pushes its luck with Indian Institute of Technology again

Will Karnataka get an Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) in this year’s budget due to be presented on Saturday? The State machinery is... »