All the 11 persons arrested by the police at Nanguneri in Tirunelveli district on Friday were remanded to judicial custody till Monday (October 15).

As the police suspected that the 11-member team, posing as a ‘fact-finding committee’ and heading towards anti-Kudankulam Nuclear Power Project protest hub Idinthakarai, might have links with the banned outfits of Andhra Pradesh, Odisha and Jharkhand, they were arrested.

Those who were arrested by the police were K. Kesavan (40), an advocate from Madurai and State joint secretary of Centre for Protection of Civil Liberties; Jegan (23) of Madurai, who has affiliation with Students’ Uprising Movement; K. Palanisamy (50) of Karur and State general secretary of Anti-Imperialist Movement; R. Dosethagiri (29) and D. Hameed (43) of Cuddapah; M. Damodhar (32) of Jharkhand and having affiliation with Anti-Evacuation Movement; Arvind Avinash (50) of Jharkhand and associated with Revolutionary Democratic Front; M. Agarathi (25) of Madurai (Women’s Uprising Movement); Priya (27) from Delhi; Varalakshmi (25) from Cuddapah and Pratibha Das (30) from Odisha. They were produced before Judicial Magistrate Sundararaj, who remanded all of them in judicial custody till October 15.

While the male members of the team were lodged at Palayamkottai Central Prison, women were taken to the women sub-jail in Kokkirakulam.