Votes polled in the eight constituencies in the district would be counted at five centres located in Thanjavur, Pattukottai and Kumbakonam on May 13, a release from Collector M.S.Shanmugham, said here on Wednesday. Candidates and their agents should follow the guidelines issued by the Election Commission in the counting centres.

The centres are Kundavai Nachiyar Government Arts College in Thanjavur, where votes for Thiruvaiyaru, Orathanadu and Thanjavur constituencies would be counted; Little Flower Higher Secondary School in Kumbakonbam where votes for Thiruvidaimaruthur and Papanasam constituencies would be counted; Government Girls College, Kumbakonam, where counting for Kumbakonam constituency would be taken up; Regional Rural Development Centre in Pattukottai where counting for Pattukottai constituency would be done; and Government Boys Higher Secondary School, Pattukottai, where counting for Pattukottai constituency would be taken up.

Agents should collect their identity cards from the respective returning officers. Those without photo identity cards would not be allowed into the centre.

Agents should reach the centres by 7 a.m. on May 13. Food would be served to the agents at the centres for which they should pay the amount in advance. They would not be permitted to go out in the middle of the process. If they go they shall not be allowed to enter again. Agent allotted for a table should not move to other tables. They should not carry cell phones. Though candidates can take phones, they should deposit the phones to the officers before entering the centres.


Counting of votes for the four constituencies in the district would be taken up at Thiru.Vi.Ka Government Arts College at Kidarankondan, a release issued by Collector K.Baskaran, said. The constituencies are Tiruvarur, Nannilam, Mannargudi and Thiruthuraipoondi. The counting would start at 8 a.m. and agents should reach the centre by 7 a.m.