: A meeting to review the arrangements for counting of votes polled in the ten Assembly constituencies of Madurai district in the April 13 election was held at the Collectorate here on Wednesday.

Addressing the officials, the Collector, U. Sagayam, said that candidates, their agents and counting agents should be present at the counting centres, with their photo identity cards, at 7 a.m. Counting of postal votes would commence at 8 a.m., followed by counting of votes registered in the electronic voting machines.

According to an official press release, candidates and their agents would be allowed to carry only pencils inside the counting hall and pens would not be allowed. Votes polled in Melur, Madurai East, Sholavandan (Reserved), Madurai North, Madurai South, Madurai Central and Madurai West will be counted at the Madurai Medical College.

Votes of Tirupparankundram and Tirumangalam constituencies will be counted at Government Polytechnic College and those polled in Usilampatti at Nadar Mahajana Sangam S. Vellaichamy Nadar College, Nagamalai.