Both the ruling All India Anna Dravida Munnettra Kazhagam (AIADMK) and rival Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) councillors of Reddiyarchathiram union submitted separate letters to District Revenue Officer K. Manoharan expressing their wish to bring no confidence motion against their union chairman P. Jayakodi here on Monday. The AIADMK councillors alleged that Ms. Jayakodai was functioning against the government and was not taking any initiative in taking State schemes to the people. The DMK councillors charged that her husband and sons were functioning as if they were the chairman and Ms. Jayakodi was doing nothing. Her inaction had paralysed union administration and all development works.

Of the total 18 councillors in the union, 12 belong to the AIADMK and the rest from the DMK. They came to the Collector’s office together.