Staff Reporter

Special centres have been set up for collection of arrears

  • Taxes can be remitted on Saturdays and Sundays from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.
  • Property and water taxes can be paid through banks

    TIRUCHI: The Corporation has launched an intensive drive for collecting property, profession, water taxes and other non-tax heads.

    Special centres have been set up for the collection of arrear taxes up to and inclusive of the half-year period ended 2006-07, the Corporation Commissioner, B. Balachandran, said in a press release issued here on Thursday.

    Taxes can be remitted at the service centres at the zonal offices in Golden Rock, Ko. Abhishekapuram, Srirangam and Ariyamangalam or at the Junior Engineer's offices at Ariyamangalam on Thanjavur Road; Viragupettai on the East Boulevard Road; Subramaniapuram; Melkalkandarkottai besides the collection centre on Rajaram Salai in K.K. Nagar.

    Taxes can be remitted on Saturdays and Sundays from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. at these centres, the release added.

    Members of the public can remit the property-tax and water-tax through the following banks, with their branches mentioned within brackets: Indian Bank (Thillai Nagar, Gandhi Market, Ponnagar, Melkalkandarkottai and Crawford, Big bazaar street, Srirangam and Palakkarai); ICICI Bank (Cantonment and Corporation office); Industrial Development Bank of India (Cantonment); Indian Overseas Bank (K. K. Nagar, National College and Thillai Nagar); State Bank of India (Cantonment, Tennur and Ramalinga Nagar I cross); Dhanalakshmi Bank (Madurai Road); Punjab National Bank (Cantonment, Teppakulam, Corporation campus); Centurian Bank (Big Bazar street).

    The release said that the list of names of persons with arrears has been released on the Corporation's website. Strict action would be initiated against those who failed to remit the taxes.

    He called upon the people to extend their cooperation in this regard.