Staff Reporter

Second day of filing of nominations

THENI: Eight candidates, including all AIADMK candidates, filed their nominations to Returning Officers in their respective constituencies on the second day of filing of nominations on Saturday.

The Chief Minister, Jayalalithaa, filed her nomination for Andipatti constituency.

The PWD Minister, O. Paneerselvam, filed his nomination for Periakulam Assembly constituency to Returning Officer, K. Pulamadan. Peria Subbian (Independent) filed his papers as dummy candidate for the PWD Minister.

The sitting MLA, R.D. Ganesan, filed his nomination for Theni and the new face R. Parthiban for Bodi constituencies. Two independents, Vilangu Mani and S. Palanisamy, filed papers for Cumbum constituency.


Three contestants, including two party candidates, filed their nominations on the second day. Marumalarchi Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam candidate for Dindigul constituency, N. Selvaraghavan, filed his nomination to A. Shanthosham, Returning Officer.

The AIADMK candidate for Nilakottai constituency, S. Thenmozhi, filed her papers to K. Mohammad Farook, District Backward Class Welfare Officer and Returning Officer for Nilakottai at the Collectorate.

An independent candidate, C. Balusamy, filed papers for Athoor constituency. Senior leaders such as the party treasurer, C. Srinivasan, and the Transport Minister, R. Viswanathan, were expected to file nominations on Monday.

Postal ballot

Meanwhile, district election office made elaborate arrangements to enable government employees to franchise their votes through postal ballot. The employees could submit their applications during election training sessions. These applications would be sent to the election officers concerned.