Loyalists of Union Finance Minister P. Chidambaram have decided to boycott the first meeting of the newly-appointed Congress office-bearers in Tamil Nadu on Thursday. “The list of office-bearers was released without consulting Mr. Chidambaram. Our supporters are not given adequate representation in the party organisation. So we have decided to stay away from the meeting,’ said a leader close to Mr Chidambaram.

The list of office-bearers released on December 7, after a gap of 10 years included 17 vice-presidents, 29 general secretaries, a treasurer and 43 executive committee members. While Union Shipping Minister G.K. Vasan supporters dominated the list, Chidambaram supporters came second by bagging 5 vice-presidents, 6 general secretaries and 8 district presidents.

The Tamil Nadu Congress Committee has already received letters from a couple of office-bearers expressing their inability to attend the meeting.

“Thursday’s meeting is informal. The formal meeting will be held on December 22,” said TNCC president B.S. Gnanadesikan said.