Special Correspondent

While an Independent files his paper in Perambalur district, nobody submits nomination in Pudukottai district

TIRUCHI: The All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) candidates for Srirangam, Tiruchi-II and Marungapuri constituencies in Tiruchi district namely M.Paranjothi, Mariam Pitchai and C.Chinnasamy filed their nominations here on Saturday.

The AIADMK is contesting from six of the nine constituencies in the district leaving two to the Marumalarchi Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam and one to the Moovendar Munnetra Kazhagam.

Mr. Paranjothi, who was the chairman of the Tamil Nadu Medical Services Corporation, till recently, filed his papers before the Returning Officer for the constituency at the Office of the Assistant Commissioner of Land Reforms at the Sethuraman Pillai Colony here.

E. S. Periasamy filed his nomination for the constituency as the AIADMK dummy.

Mr. Mariam Pitchai, former district secretary of the party, filed his papers before the Revenue Divisional Officer at the Collector's Office. Mr. Chinnasamy filed his nominations before the Returning Officer for the constituency in the Collector's Office. C.Malathi filed his nominations as his dummy.


An Independent, M.K.Subramanian, filed his papers for the Andimadam constituency in Perambalur district on Saturday.


No nomination was received for the five Assembly constituencies in Pudukottai district on Saturday.


The DMK candidate for Tiruvaiyaru constituency Durai Chandrasekaran filed his papers before K. Mohammed Hanifa, Assistant Commissioner (Excise), at the Collectorate here on Saturday.

A dummy candidate also filed his papers for the constituency.

Besides, two more independents filed nominations for Papanasam constituency.