Staff Reporter

Ramanathapuram: The AIADMK candidate for Kadaladi constituency, V. Sathiamoorthy, has promised that he will strive hard to bring Cauvery water to solve the drinking water problem in the district.

Speaking to reporters here on Saturday after filling nomination for the Kadaladi constituency, he said the Government had already started the feasibility study of the big project. The Chief Minister, Jayalalithaa, had also committed to implement the project. If the AIADMK was voted back to power, the scheme would be one of the priorities of the Government.

Mr. Sathiamoorthy said he would continue the work, which he left when his term was over in 1996 as the MLA of Kadaladi. Besides improving all village roads, he would speed up the East Coast Road from Ramanathapuram to Tuticorin. He would take necessary action to complete the work within two years from now.

He charged that the efficiency of the Naripaiyur Desalination Project was not up to the mark because of the then DMK Government's lacklustre approach. He would take effective steps to rejuvenate the project in order to supply drinking water to the targeted villages.

Earlier, he submitted his papers to the Assistant Commissioner (Exise), Sathanantham. Mr. Sathiamoorthy's wife Chandra filled her paper as an independent candidate (dummy candidate).

S. Sundarraj, AIADMK candidate for Paramakudi (reserve) constituency, filled his papers to the Returning Officer Lakshmi Kanthan. Sarojini wife of Mr. Sundarraj submitted her nomination as an independent candidate (dummy candidate).


The sitting MLA, K.K. Umadevan, on Saturday, submitted the nomination for the Thirupattur constituency.

Accompanied by his party cadres and supporters, the AIADMK nominee filed the nomination to S. Janarthanan, Returning Officer for the Thirupattur constituency.

S. Chokalingam filed papers as the dummy candidate for Mr. Umadevan.

Similarly, Agaram Arumugam has become the first candidate to file nomination for the Manamadurai constituency. However, so far, no one has filed nomination for Karaikudi and Ilayankudi constituencies.