Staff Reporter

For different posts in the local bodies of Tiruchi district

TIRUCHI: Byelections to different posts lying vacant in the local bodies in the district were held peacefully on Wednesday.

For the byelection to the post of the president of Kilikoodu village panchayat in Andanallur block, 563 out of the total 683 voters exercised their franchise.

Four candidates are in fray here.

By-elections were held for ward members of Tirunedunkulam and Navalpattu panchayats (Tiruverumbur block); Puthanatham panchayat (Manapparai block); Vaiyampatti panchayat (Vaiyampatti block); Marunagapuri panchayat (Marungapuri block). In all 16 candidates have filed nominations in these wards. A total of 4,439 out of the total 8,355 voters in these five village panchayats wards cast their votes, a press release of the District Collector, Asish Vachhani issued here on Wednesday said.

The release said five ward members in equal number of panchayats were elected unopposed. The five ward members elected unopposed, with the blocks within brackets, were: Adhavathur (Manikandam); Ikkaraikosikurichi (Marungapuri); Chukkampatti (Musiri); R. Valavanur (Lalgudi) and Sobanapuram (Uppliyapuram).

Elections for three ward members in three different panchayats – Ward No. 6 of the Pullampadi town panchayat; Ward No. 2 of Govindapuram village panchayat in Thuraiyur block and ward No. 3 of the R. Valavanur village panchayat in Lalgudi block – were not held today, as no nominations were filed, the release added.