Special Correspondent

CHENNAI: The Assembly on Friday saw the adoption of five Bills on higher education, including those to make Anna University, Chennai, a unitary type university again, and provide for the removal of Vice-Chancellors of such technology universities.

By amending Anna University - Chennai Act 1978, the institution will be of the unitary type and will comprise the College of Engineering besides the Alagappa Chettiar College of Technology and the Madras Institute of Technology, Chromepet.

The decision to make Anna University unitary type university again has been made considering that 136 engineering colleges are affiliated to it and teachers of the university are unable to involve themselves in research work but have to spend most of their time on matters such as supervision of admissions and examinations.

Another Bill envisages the establishment of Anna University of Technology, Chennai. This will be of the affiliating type.

An important part of the third Bill pertains to the removal of Vice-Chancellors of technology universities in Tiruchi, Coimbatore and Tirunelveli. They will not be removed from office except by an order of the Chancellor passed after enquiry. The enquiry panel will comprise a judge of the High Court, a government officer not below the rank of Chief Secretary and a Vice-Chancellor of any university in the State. Similar provision has been included in respect of the other two universities.

This Bill is also aimed at changing the names of Anna Universities of Tiruchi, Coimbatore and Tirunvelveli as Anna Universities of Technology for the respective areas.

Consequent to the move to form Anna University of Technology, Madurai, the government has decided to exclude Madurai, Theni, Dindigul, Ramanathapuram and Sivaganga districts from the jurisdiction of the Anna Universities of Technology, Tiruchi and Tirunelveli.