Ten artistes have been chosen by the district administration for various awards for 2010-2011 and 2011-2012.

The government has been extending awards since 2002-2003 to five poor and aged artistes in every district to promote arts and encourage artistes.

Virudhunagar district had awarded 30 artistes till 2009-2010.

The ten artistes are (the tile name and field of performance are given in brackets): T. Vinuthasri of Rajapalayam (Kalai Ilamani - Bharathanatyam), P.Kannan of Pommakottai (Kalai Valarmani - nadaswaram), E. Pandiyarani of Sivakasi (Kalai Sudarmani - ‘villisai’), S. Lakshmiammal of Kariapatti (Kalai Nanmani - folk songs), R. Muthuraj of Virudhunagar (Kalai Mudhumani - drawing), M. Manoj of Virudhunagar (Kalai Ilamani - vocal song), K. Malarvizhi of Sivakasi (Kalai Valarmani - folk dance), T. Sevakumar of Kariapatti (Kalai Kadamani - nadasawaram), M. Murugesan of Erichanatham (Kalai Nanmani - thavil), and A. Arunachalam of Sivakasi (Kalai Mudhumani – sculpture).

Minister for Information and Special Programme Implementation K. T. Rajendhira Balaji and Minister for School Education, Sports and Youth Welfare Vaigaichelvan would be presenting the awards on April 12..