Staff Reporter

KRISHNAGIRI: Ten candidates were elected unopposed in Krishnagiri and Dharmapuri districts in the by-election to be held on February 27.

The notifications for the election were announced on February 7 and nominations were received up to February 14. Nominations were scrutinised on February 16.

The last date for withdrawal was February 19.

After the withdrawal, it was announced that 10 candidates, five each in both the districts, were elected unopposed. Nobody filed nominations in Ward 4 in Marudhanapalli panchayat in Thali Union in Krishnagiri district.

In Krishanagiri district, Ward No. 2 (SC, general) M. Muniyamma, Karnapalli, Hosur Union; Ward No. 3 (general), S. Mariammal, Pannandhur, Kaveripattinam Union; Ward No. 1 (general) S. Vanitha, Jakkeri, Kelamangalam Union; Ward No. 1 (general) V. Vennila, Sembadamuthur, Krishnagiri Union and Ward No. 11 (general women) A. Mallika, Mettuthangal from Uthangarai union were elected unopposed.

In Dharmapuri district, five ward councillors were elected unopposed.