R. Vimal Kumar

Tirupur: Collector C. Samayamoorthy said that plans were afoot to create one more educational district in the newly formed Tirupur district with Dharapuram as its headquarters.

The district administration, in its proposal to the State Government, had suggested the constitution of Dharapuram Educational District by including the educational institutions which are relocated to Tirupur revenue district limits from Erode and Pollachi educational districts, he told The Hindu.

At present, the newly formed Tirupur district have only Tirupur Educational District with the schools in Tirupur, Palladam, Avinashi and Pongalur blocks coming under its jurisdiction.

The schools under the blocks of Udumalpet, Gudimangalam, Dharapuram, Kangayam, Kundadam, Moolanur, Uthukuli and Vellokoil blocks, which had been relocated to Tirupur revenue district, were still being governed by District Education Officers of Pollachi and Erode educational districts.

During the reorganisation process, the schools coming under Uthukuli and Kangayam blocks might be shifted to the existing Tirupur educational district considering its proximity to Tirupur city, instead of making them a part of Dharapuram educational district, Mr. Samayamoorthy added.