Staff Reporter

Paramilitary forces and Tamil Nadu Special Police to be deployed

Krishnagiri: A total of 83 sensitive polling stations have been identified in Krishnagiri district. Of this, 15 are in Hosur assembly constituency, 16 in Thally, 17 in Kaveripattinam, 18 in Krishnagiri and 17 in Bargur assembly segment. Paramilitary forces and Tamil Nadu Special Police (TSP) will be deployed at these stations.

Along with this, cameras would be installed to monitor the proceedings at the sensitive polling stations. The number of inter-State border checkposts would be increased to curb the illegal movement of arms, explosives and anti-social elements, said Collector Mangat Ram Sharma here on Monday.

All licensees of arms had been directed to surrender their arms in the respective police station until further orders. Similarly, shops selling explosives in the district had been ordered to remain closed from May 6 to 12.

A detailed communication plan had been drawn to keep in frequent touch with the returning officers of the assembly constituencies concerned. The policemen here could cast their vote through postal ballot.

The total number of electors in the assembly constituencies in Krishnagiri district is as follows: Hosur : 3,11,433, Thally : 1,80,624, Kaveripattinam: 1,82,382, Krishnagiri : 1,93,230 and Bargur : 1,96,491. The Collector also inspected polling booths established at Kuntharapalli, Kodipalli, Konkanapalli and Sigaramaganapalli. He instructed officials to provide ramps at all the polling booths.