R.K. Radhakrishnan

L.K. Tripathy replaces N. Narayanan; D. Mukherjee takes over from A.X. Alexander

CHENNAI: Within hours after Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam president M. Karunanidhi assumed office as Chief Minister, the Government effected a top-level bureaucratic shuffle.

Chief Secretary N. Narayanan, a 1970 batch officer credited with turning round the State's finances when he handled the Finance portfolio a few years ago, has been posted as Commissioner, Archives. Incidentally, Mr. Narayanan was sent as Commissioner, Disciplinary Proceedings, Tiruchi, shortly after the Jayalalithaa Government assumed office in 2001.

Mr. Narayanan will be replaced by a 1971 batch officer, L.K. Tripathy, Chairman and Managing Director, Industrial Explosives Limited. The 1971 batch includes seniors such as Home Secretary Pawan Raina, Union Petroleum Secretary M.S. Srinivasan, Food Secretary T.R. Srinivasan and Nirmal Singh, another officer now based in New Delhi.

D. Mukherjee, Director-General of Police (Additional Director A), Central Bureau of Investigation, New Delhi, will be the new Director-General of Police. The incumbent, A.X.Alexander, who is 18 days away from retirement, has been posted as Special Officer, Tamil Nadu Police Academy. Mr. Alexander was shifted to Mandapam as ADGP shortly after the Jayalalithaa Government assumed office.

C.K. Gandhirajan, IG (Operations), Chennai, will take over the crucial post of IG (Intelligence) in place of Sanjeev Kumar, while A.K.Viswanathan, DIG, CBI, Chennai, will be the DIG (CID Intelligence), Chennai.

4 secretaries for CM

The Chief Minister will have four secretaries two Indian Administrative Service Officers, a retired IAS officer and a retired Additional Secretary of the Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly.

Mr. Hoda and T.R.Ramasamy, who was shifted to Nagercoil as Commissioner of Disciplinary Proceedings by the previous Government, are the two serving officers. Mr. Hoda's suspension was revoked by the Centre, but he was not given a posting by the State Government. K. Shanmuganathan, Mr.Karunanidhi's secretary for a few decades now, and K. Rajamanickam, a retired IAS officer, are the other secretaries.