AIADMK wins Gobichettipalayam, DMK wrests Bhavanisagar and Sathyamangalam

print   ·   T  T  
JUBILANT: K.A. Sengottaiyan, who won from the Gobichettipalayam Assembly Constituency, returning with certificate. - Photo: M. Govarthan
JUBILANT: K.A. Sengottaiyan, who won from the Gobichettipalayam Assembly Constituency, returning with certificate. - Photo: M. Govarthan

Staff Reporter

Fourth time victory for Sengottaiyan; performance of DMDK candidates impressive Victory for Sengottaiyan in Gobichettipalayam

GOBICHETTIPALAYAM: Former Transport Minister and AIADMK heavyweight K.A. Sengottaiyan won the Gobichettipalayam Assembly seat for a record fourth time.

He defeated his rival, G. V. Manimaran of the DMK, by a slender margin of 4,019 votes. He secured 55,181 votes, 45.63 per cent of the total votes polled.

And, true to being an AIADMK bastion, the voters of this constituency have returned an AIADMK candidate for the seventh time in the last eight Assembly elections.

Shifting loyalty

But there ends the AIADMK's victory. In the two other northern constituencies of this district - Bhavanisagar and Sathyamangalam - the DMK has won.

In Bhavanisagar, the DMK candidate Jeeva O. Subramaniam defeated his AIADMK rival Sindhu Ravichandran by 20,016 votes. Mr. Subramaniam secured 65,055 votes (50.84 per cent) to wrest the seat from the AIADMK.

It may be noted that Mr. Subramaniam lost the 2001 Assembly election to AIADMK's P. Chithambaram. His victory is the second for the DMK in this constituency, the previous being in 1996 when V. A. Andamuthu won.

Sathyamangalam Assembly constituency adds to the DMK's kitty with L. B. Dharmalingam's victory. He secured 56,035 votes ( 46.27 per cent) to defeat his MDMK rival T. K. Subramaniam by 15,894 votes. Thursday's victory is the third for the party, after 1996 and 1989. Incidentally, this is the third defeat for Mr. Subramaniam in this constituency.


In these three constituencies, the performance of Vijayakant's Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam (DMDK) candidates is impressive.

In Gobichettipalayam, DMDK's G. S. Natarajan, secured 10,875 votes, nine per cent of the votes polled. Considering the slender margin with which Mr. Sengottaiyan sailed through, the DMDK candidate's performance assumes significance.

Similarly, in the Sathyamangalam Assembly constituency, DMKDK's D. Manoharan secured 15,596 votes. This almost equals the victory margin - 15,894 votes - with which DMK's L. B. Dharmalingam won the seat. Mr. Manoharan's vote share is 12.87 per cent.

In the Bhavanisagar seat, MDMK's K. Subramaniam has secured 10,399 votes, or 8.13 per cent.




Recent Article in TAMIL NADU

Sperm whale washed ashore

The carcass of a 50-feet long sperm whale was washed ashore at Uyyali Kuppam village near Kalpakkam, Kancheepuram district late on Saturd... »