Will Congress beat AIADMK?

print   ·   T  T  

K. Raju

In Vedasandur Assembly constituency

DINDIGUL: After a gap of 17 years, Vedasandur will witness a close battle between the Congress and the AIADMK.

The Congress had won the constituency 1962. Since then, its candidates were defeated either by Communists or by Dravidian parties.

The AIADMK retained the constituency in 1977, 1980, 1984,1991 and 2001 and DMK won the seat in 1971, 1989 and 1996 only.

AIADMK stalwarts like deputy speakers S. Gandhirajan and V.P. Balasubramaniam nurtured the constituency well and made it AIADMK fortress.

The Congress that abandoned its bastion Natham for Vedasandur has given another chance to district secretary and Vasan loyalist M. Thandapani, who was defeated in 1989 election.

The AIADMK has fielded S. Palanisamy. For the first time, a candidate belonging Vadamadurai union, is contesting in this constituency.

Alliance arithmetic is in favour of the Congress. Son-of-the-soil status is another advantage.

Inner party wrangles and dissidence have been haunting both parties. While dissidents and Ilangovan loyalists have vowed to destroy winning prospects of Mr. Thandapani, dissidents in the AIADMK have decided to work against Mr. Palanisamy.

The AIADMK has to work hard to supersede the Congress. Sidelining of former Deputy Speaker S. Gandhirajan has weakened the AIADMK.

Mr. Gandhirajan's loyalists refuse to campaign for Mr. Palanisamy and remain mute spectators. Mr. Palanisamy has been struggling to convince party workers in Gujiliamparai and Vedasandur unions for campaign. Vadamadurai union party workers alone have been working for him.

Caste card too will play a major role in the constituency. Gounders dominate the constituency with 28 per cent votes and Dalits, next major community, have 20 per cent votes and Pillai 14 per cent votes.

The DMDK has been posing a grave threat to the AIADMK. It will break both Dalit and youth votes, a strong point for the AIADMK. Only solace is that women voters are still loyal to the AIADMK.

Total voters are 2,10,246 including 1,02,980 men.




Recent Article in TAMIL NADU

Heat wave hits ‘Mission Kakatiya’

Farmers not coming to take the silt due to fear of sunstroke »