Venkatachalamoorthy, head of rights panel

print   ·   T  T  

Special Correspondent

Three members, A.R. Selvakumar, K. Mariappan and S. Paramasivan, assume office Three members, A.R. Selvakumar, K. Mariappan and S. Paramasivan assume office

CHENNAI: The Tamil Nadu Government on Friday appointed a retired Chief Justice of the High Court head of the State Human Rights Commission. The posts of three Members, which were vacant, have also been filled.

While Justice A.S. Venkatachalamoorthy assumed office as Chairperson, A.R. Selvakumar, a retired district judge, and K. Mariappan and S.Paramasivan, retired Directors of School Education, took over as Members on Saturday.

With these appointments, all the vacancies have been filled.

Vacant for long

The post of Chairperson was lying vacant since the death of Justice S. Nainar Sundaram in September 2001.

Till the new appointment, Justice S. Thangaraj, a retired High Court judge, was the Acting Chairperson.

After the retirement of R. Ratnaswami, a Member, in 2000, S. Sambandham, a former Special Court judge, was posted in his place.

Later, Justice K. Swamidurai, M. Sushila Raj and Abdul Ghani retired as Members in 2002 on completion of their term. Mr. Sambandham retired in March this year.

Under the Protection of Human Rights Act, 1993, a State Commission should consist of a Chairperson, who has been the Chief Justice of a High Court; one Member, who is, or has been a High Court judge; of a High Court; one Member who is, or has been, a district judge in that State; and two Members to be appointed from among persons having knowledge of, or practical experience in, matters relating to human rights.




Recent Article in TAMIL NADU

Harvard Professor Mangalam Srinivasan presenting the SASTRA Ramanujan Award 2014 to Oxford mathematician James Maynard in Kumbakonam on Sunday.— Photo: Special Arrangement

Maths prize conferred on Oxford Professor

The SASTRA-Ramanujan Award 2014 was conferred on Professor James Maynard of Oxford University, here on Sunday. Professor Mangalam Sriniva... »