Final voters' list released in district

print   ·   T  T  
GEARING UP FOR POLLS: The final draft of electoral rolls published in Salem on Thursday. - Photo: P. Goutham
GEARING UP FOR POLLS: The final draft of electoral rolls published in Salem on Thursday. - Photo: P. Goutham

Staff Reporter

Forms for inclusion, deletion and correction should be submitted to registration officers

SALEM: The final voters' list for the local body elections was released in the district on Thursday.

On display

It was put up at 20 panchayat union offices, 385 village panchayat offices, 33 town panchayat offices, four municipal offices, the Salem Corporation office, revenue divisional offices and the Collectorate.

The district has 23,48,509 voters, 11,78,568 of them men. Voters can submit forms for inclusion, deletion and correction to the electoral registration officers of the respective Assembly segments, says a release from Collector N. Mathivanan.

60 wards

Releasing the voters' list for the 60 wards of the Salem Corporation, Commissioner A.M. Selvam said it was based on the list for the 2006 Assembly elections. Of the 60 wards, 23 fall under the Salem - I Assembly Constituency, 22 under Salem - II, 11 under Veerapandi and four under Panamarathupatti.

Voters under Salem - I could submit the forms to the Commissioner and the rest to the Salem Revenue Divisional Officer. The forms could be presented until the nomination date was announced.

At schools

The list was put up at a number of schools. The civic administration would set up 610 polling stations within the city limits. The number of voters in the Corporation was 5,96,349, including 2,98,643 men. During the 2001 local body elections, the number was 4,73,869.

The final list for Namakkal district was also released on Thursday.




Recent Article in TAMIL NADU

PMK leader Anbumani Ramadass was given theinvite by the PMO. It was open only to the NDAMPs, so MDMK leader Vaiko and DMDK leader Vijayakant were left out, says the BJP.

Dinner invite causes heartburns in NDA

In a sign of widening fissures in the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) in Tamil Nadu, the allies of the BJP on Saturday made their disp... »