Special Correspondent

MDMK gets four seats; Vaiko to contest from Virudhunagar

CHENNAI: Hours after the seat-sharing agreement was concluded with the MDMK, AIADMK general secretary Jayalalithaa released the party’s list of candidates for 23 Lok Sabha constituencies.

The MDMK has been allotted four constituencies. Party general secretary Vaiko, who is contesting a general election after a gap of 10 years, will contest from Virudhunagar. Former MP of Palani and district secretary of Erode A. Ganeshamurthy will contest from Erode. MP C. Krishnan will contest from Nilgiris and deputy general secretary Durai Balakrishnan from Thanjavur.

Among the prominent AIADMK candidates are former Union Minister M. Thambidurai (Karur), former Tamil Nadu Ministers S. Semmalai (Salem), V.Sathiyamurthy (Ramanathapuram) and M.C. Sampath (Cuddalore).

R.S. Rajakannappan, who returned to the AIADMK after being elected to the Assembly on the DMK ticket, has been given the Sivaganga seat. He was a Minister in the AIADMK government between 1991 and 1996.

Cynthia Pandian, former Vice-Chancellor of Manonmaniam Sundaranar University, and wife of former AIADMK Parliamentary Party leader P.H. Pandian is the candidate for the Tuticorin constituency.

Actor S.S. Chandran has been given the ticket in the Central Chennai constituency against former Union Minister Dayanidhi Maran of the DMK. He had earlier represented the AIADMK in the Rajya Sabha.

Former Rajya Sabha member O.S. Manian who contested from the Mayiladuthurai constituency in 2004 has once again been nominated.

Former Tirupur MLA C. Sivasami is the candidate in the newly created Tirupur constituency. Tirupur was one seat that was sought by both the MDMK and the CPI(M).

Among the new faces nominated by the AIADMK are R. Rajan (Tiruvallur), S. Rajendran (South Chennai), L.K.M.P. Vasu (Vellore), Mukkur N. Subramanian (Arani), P. Murugan (Villupuram), V. Vairam Tamilarasi (Namakkal), K. Sukumar (Pollachi), P. Kumar (Tiruchi), R.P. Maruthairaj (Perambalur), K. Annamalai (Tirunelveli).

Former MLA E. Ramakrishnan (Kancheepuram), K. Nanjagoda (Krishnagiri), former MP Thanga Tamilselvan (Theni) and P. Balasubramani (Dindigul) have also been given the party ticket.

A three-time MP, Mr. Thambidurai is the propaganda secretary of the party and a member of the current Assembly. He was the deputy speaker of the Lok Sabha between 1985 and 1989 and a Union Minister between 1998 and 1999. Mr. Semmalai was Minister for education and health in the previous AIADMK government. The seat-sharing is now over in the AIADMK and the DMK camps.

The AIADMK will be facing the DMK in 10 constituencies and the Congress in 11 constituencies. In Villupuram, the fight is between the AIADMK and the Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi and in Vellore, the AIADMK will face the Muslim League. The DMK and the PMK have a direct contest in 5 constituencies.