11 in fray for Srivaikuntam seat

print   ·   T  T  
Next towards voters: Political party cadres coming out of the Tuticorin Collectorate after the completion of scrutiny of nominations on Thursday.
Next towards voters: Political party cadres coming out of the Tuticorin Collectorate after the completion of scrutiny of nominations on Thursday.

Staff Reporter

Nominations of 13 aspirants rejected after scrutiny on Thursday

Tuticorin: A total of eleven candidates are in the fray for the Srivaikuntam Assembly constituency after the nominations were scrutinised before the Returning Officer, D. Ravichandran on Thursday.

Out of the 24 nominations filed by candidates of various political parties and independents, nominations of 11 aspirants were accepted. Nominations of 13 aspirants, including two candidates, were rejected owing to inadequate details and discrepancies which existed in their papers.

Candidates of major political parties who are in the fray are M.B. Sudalaiyandi (42) of Indian National Congress, G. Thanalakshmi (40) of Communist Party of India, S. Santhana Kumar (41) of Bharatiya Janata Party and M. Soundarapandi (46) of Desiya Dravida Murpokku Kazhagam. Independent candidates who are in the field are U. Nagoor Meeran Peer Mohamed (48) M.Ramasubramanian (28), C. Maruthanayagam (48), S. Arumugaraj (31) S. Murugan (33), Yadhav alias Krishna Kanthan Yadhav (65) and T. Arunachalam (62).

Speaking to reporters, Mr. Ravichandran said that communication facilities, including internet access with the help of BSNL for all polling stations would be made available before August 8 for sending across the details of electoral proceedings and SIM cards would also be given to booth level officers for sharing information by sending SMS to the NIC server, Chennai.

Authorities concerned assured that they would complete the task assigned to them within the stipulated time. The staff concerned would carry out a trial run here on the operation of internet either on August 10 or 12, he added.

When asked about the postal votes, Mr. Ravichandran said that approximately 600 electorate were eligible for voting. Aadequate number of staff and students with computer knowledge would assist the officials in handling web cameras, he added.

T.K. Ranagaswamy, Director of Mass Education, Karnataka, deputed as the Observer to Srivaikundam Assembly constituency was expected to arrive here in a day or two, he said.

About 700 personnel would be deployed to man the polling booths in various locations. The personnel should conduct mock polling at all stations concerned prior to the schedule of casting of votes. If the electronic voting machine was proven faulty for a period of two hours, re-polling would be ordered, he said.

P. Nallasivam, Deputy Tasildar (Reception) would be the Liaison Officer to the Election Observer. N. Samuel, Tasildar (Election) and Raghu, Election Assistant were present.




Recent Article in TAMIL NADU

In addition to cooking, the boys have also been learning social adjustment skills —Photo: K. Pichumani

Learning to cook, guided by touch and smell

Their sense of touch and smell has been working overtime these past few weeks – tasting food they cook and touching the water to find if... »