Staff Reporter

It includes papers filed by DMDK nominees

KRISHNAGIRI: Twenty-four nominations, including that of two Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam (DMDK) candidates, were rejected out of the 31 nominations filed for the Bargur Assembly by-election.


This was announced by Returning Officer A. Shanmugasundaram at the end of the scrutiny of nomination papers on Thursday evening. The scrutiny took place in the presence of election observer Ananth Kishore.

The nominations of K.R.K. Narasimhan (DMK); K. Asokan (BJP); S. Kannu (CPI); K. Padmarajan (Independent), Maheshwari Kannappan (Ind.), S. Sakthivel (Rajini Fans Association) and A. Rajesh were accepted.

Official sources said that the nomination papers of DMDK candidate V. Chandran and dummy candidate M. Sundararajan were rejected as their proposers’ names were not properly mentioned according to the voters list prior to the delimitation of the Bargur Assembly constituency.