Staff Reporter

Tuticorin: The ballot papers for 12 candidates, including the independent candidates contesting the byelection to Srivaikundam Assembly constituency slated for August 18, had been fed into the electronic voting machines at the Collectorate on Friday.

Collector and District Election Officer G. Prakash told the media that the EVMs would be provided to polling booths on August 17.

About 1, 000 police personnel would be deployed to maintain law and order. Based on the sensitivity, the security would be intensified in booths. The ballot paper insertion was done by Returning Officer D. Ravichandran in the presence of Election Observer D.K. Ranga Swamy, Director, Mass Education, Karnataka, Election Observer (Additional), D. Sreenivasalu, Commissioner of Labour, Andhra Pradesh, along with Mr. Prakash.