Staff Reporter

Ministers, top leaders visit the constituency

BARGUR (KRISHNAGIRI): Bargur is considered to be a high profile constituency after E.G. Sugavanam defeated Jayalalitha in the 1996 Assembly elections by a margin of 8,366 votes.

The election was necessitated after M. Thambidurai, AIADMK’s Propoganda Secretary and MLA was elected to Lok Sabha.Three Ministers – E.V. Velu, K. Ponmudi and T.M. Anbarasan are camping in the constituency. DMK has divided the constituency into nine zones for campaigning.

Each zone is headed by a district secretary

Many district secretaries who took part in the first public meeting of UPA conducted in Pochampalli have promosed the party high command that they would work vigorously.

As the opposition AIADMK was boycotting the polls, DMK thought it is a cake walk for them after the rejection of the DMDK candidate V. Chandran’s nomination. The DMDK appealed to the Election Commission of India for a re-scrutiny of the nomination papers. Then Chandran was announced as an Independent candidate and got ‘Murasu’ as his symbol, which incidentally is the DMDK’s symbol.

DMK, DMDK, BJP and CPI have opened their election offices in Bargur in addition to their party offices in the district headquarters.