Special Correspondent

SIVAGANGA: As many as nine candidates are in the fray for the by-election to the Ilayankudi Assembly constituency, to be held on August 18.

No candidate came forward to withdraw nomination on Saturday, the last day of withdrawal.

Returning Officer A. Sivagnanam released the final list of candidates in the presence of Election Observer Pravin Kumar Toppo. The symbols were also allotted.

Suba. Mathiarasan of DMK (rising sun), Azhagu. Balakrishnan of DMDK (nagara), P.M. Rajendran of BJP (lotus), A.Arivazhagan (comb), R. Kalimuthu (electric pole), G. Sathaiah (candles), V. Thalapathy (almirah), P. Nagarajan (ring), M. Periaiah (banana) are in the final list.

EVMs inspected

Later, along with the Returning Officer, the Election Observer inspected the new Electronic Voting Machines, which had arrived from the Bharat Heavy Electronics Limited, Bangalore. Mr. Toppo checked the functioning and operation of the machines.

He said that the political parties and candidates should strictly follow the rules and regulation prescribed by the Election Commission. No one should write painting on private walls without the written permission of the owners. Only three vehicles could go in a convoy. A new facility was created in the EVMs for blind persons who could use Braille method to cast vote.