Staff Reporter

PERAMBALUR: The Perambalur District and Sessions Court on Wednesday awarded life sentence to four persons for having murdered the Perambalur Town panchayat president.

According to the prosecution, K. Selvaraj (40), the Perambalur Town Panchayat president, was murdered by a group of five persons. Possessing weapons, the gang – M. Sakthivel (23), P. Nagaraj (23), N. Ranjithkumar (23), S. Senthilmurugan and V. Iyyappan (23), intercepted the two-wheeler by which Selvaraj was going to the Town Panchayat office.

He was hacked to death on the spot.

The incident occurred on January 12, 2003. M. Sakthivel (23), who also suffered serious injuries, died on the same day.

A dispute over eviction of a site where Nagaraj was running a shop caused the incident. The police registered case of murder and arrested the other four persons.

The District and Sessions Judge, S. Kalavathy who found them guilty, awarded life sentence to each of them.

The Judge also ordered a fine of Rs.5,000 in default to undergo three months’ imprisonment. They were lodged in the Central Prison, Tiruchi.