Staff Reporter

The section overburdened with engineering-related activities

Officials yet to take action against persons violating building rules

Petitions to be sent to Local Administration Minister, Corporation Commissioner

SALEM: The Association of Licensed Building Surveyors-Salem has urged the city Corporation to bifurcate its engineering department and create a separate department for town planning.

A resolution passed during the annual general body meeting of the association held here recently said that officials at the planning section were overburdened with the engineering -related activities.

As a result, works related to town planning could not be carried out quickly.

The officials were yet to take any concrete action against persons who violated building rules.

The creation of a separate department would ensure speedy implementation of works related to town planning, the resolution said.

Association members had decided to send petitions in this regard to the Local Administration Minister, Commissioner of Municipal Administration and Corporation Commissioner.

In another resolution, members said that all the 15 scheme areas in the city, which were authorised a long ago with a set of scheme rules, were fully developed.

As a result, the land users were finding it very difficult to follow the scheme rules.

The planning bodies should relax the rules and allow land users to follow only the building rules.


Members alleged that a few persons and middlemen were drafting building plans without engaging licensed building surveyors and submitting them for approval.

The authorities concerned should initiate stern action against such persons.

The Corporation should allow only the owner and the licensed surveyors to submit building plans for approval. The authorities concerned should strictly direct the owners to utilise the buildings after obtaining completion report from the licensed surveyors.

Another resolution said that the permission for the secondary use of buildings should be given through the civic administration.

A. Natarajan was elected as new president of the association, V. Angappan as secretary and B. Vijayabaskar as treasurer.