Special Correspondent

Drinking water supply can be enhanced

Construct roads, bridges; provide street lights

COIMBATORE: Of the 52 town panchayats in the district, 13 of them will get funds under the Anna Marulamalarchi Thittam for infrastructure development this year. They are: Thenkarai, Dhali, Chettipalayam, Kaniyur, Samathur, Kottur, Dhaliyur, Komaralingam, Pooluvapatti, Vettaikaranpudur, Udayakulam, Sankaramanallur and Alandurai.

Rs. 50 lakh each

The office of the Assistant Director of Town Panchayats S. Namagiri said on Friday that while each of these town panchayats would get Rs.50 lakh for works this year, the rest of the local bodies would get funds over the next three years in batches of 13 a year.

The funds would be used to provide basic amenities (roads, water supply, drainage and public utility structures), for steps to ensure a good disease-free public health situation and cleanliness and also for computerisation to speed up services to the people.

Funds would also be made available for clusters of town panchayats to take up programmes for the socio-economic development of the people in their areas, a press release from Mr. Namagiri said. Local Administration Minister M.K. Stalin announced the scheme in the Assembly on April 11 for 561 town panchayats in the State.

This would be implemented in all these local bodies over a four-year period at Rs.280 crore, the release said.

Monitoring committee

An implementation and monitoring committee would be formed. The District Collector would be its Chairman and the Assistant Director of Town Panchayat its Member-Secretary.

A total of 140 town panchayats would be covered this year across the State, including 13 in Coimbatore. The rest of them were in the following districts (with number of town panchayats in brackets): Kancheepuram (6), Tiruvallur (3), Vellore (6), Tiruvannamalai (3), Dharmapuri (2), Krishnagiri (2), Salem (8), Namakkal (4), Erode (14), The Nilgiris (3), Cuddalore (4), Villupuram (3), Thanjavur (6), Nagapattinam (2), Tiruvarur (1), Tiruchi (4), Perambalur (2), Pudukottai (2), Dindigul (6), Karur (3), Madurai (3), Theni (5), Ramanathapuram (2), Virudhunagar (3), Sivaganga (3), Tirunelveli (9), Tuticorin (4) and Kanyakumari (14).