Draft rolls released

print   ·   T  T  
THE LIST: Collector S.S. Jawahar showing the draft photo rolls in the city on Monday.
THE LIST: Collector S.S. Jawahar showing the draft photo rolls in the city on Monday.

Special Correspondent

MADURAI: Collector S.S. Jawahar, on Monday, released the draft photo rolls of nine Assembly constituencies. The Samayanallur (Reserved) constituency has recorded the maximum of 3.52 lakh voters.

Speaking to reporters, Mr. Jawahar said that the draft rolls would be displayed at the Collectorate, taluk, panchayat union and Corporation offices for public view. Applications in the prescribed format for addition, deletion and modification in the voters' list would be entertained till June 19. The applications would be scrutinised and capturing of images for supplementary list would be held on July 9. The final rolls would be published on July 20.

He said that 92 per cent of photo roll coverage had been achieved on an average in these constituencies. The Madurai Central constituency recorded 99 per cent coverage. The final rolls of Madurai West segment, where a by-poll is slated for June 26, were already published.

The total number of voters in the respective constituencies with women voters in brackets is as follows: Sedapatti 1,15,873 (59,229), Tirumangalam 1,45,537 (74,318), Usilampatti 1,093,79 (54,986), Sholavandan 1,33,362 (67,633), Tirupparankundram 3,31,006 (1,64,359), Madurai Central 1,31,300 (65,422), Madurai East 1,07,041 (53,011), Samayanallur 3,52,843 (1,76,158) and Melur 1,61,919 (82, 907).

M. Ravichandran (41), an Independent candidate, filed his nomination here on Monday.




Recent Article in TAMIL NADU

Union Ministers Nitin Gadkari, Bandaru Dattatreya and Telangana BJP president Kishan Reddy atV.M. Banjara village in Khammam districton Wednesday.— PHOTO: G.N. RAO

Centre all for inland waterways: Gadkari

Plan to convert 101 rivers including the Godavari into waterways across India »