Special Correspondent

For vociferous protest against Minister's remark

  • Vociferous protest against Minister's remark
  • Some members moved towards Speaker's chair

    CHENNAI: Members of the All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam were evicted from the Assembly on Thursday, after they protested vociferously against an observation made by Agriculture Minister Veerapandi S. Arumugham.

    Four of them were later suspended for the rest of the budget session.

    Trouble began when Backward Classes Minister M.R.K. Paneerselvam, referring to Chief Minister M. Karunanidhi setting up the Backward Classes department in 1969, made a remark against AIADMK general secretary Jayalalithaa.


    Members of the main Opposition party were on their feet and some backbenchers moved towards the Speaker's chair. Electricity Minister Arcot N. Veerasamy intervened and suggested that if the remark had hurt the members it could be removed. Speaker R. Avudaiappan expunged the remark.

    AIADMK whip K.A. Sengottaiyan said Mr. Karunanidhi might have set up the department, but there would not have been a Dravidian movement without MGR (former Chief Minister M.G.Ramachandran).

    Mr. Arumugham retorted there would have been no MGR without Mr. Karunanidhi and that MGR betrayed the movement in 1972 (when he launched the ADMK).

    Uproar in House

    An infuriated V.T. Kalairajan (AIADMK), holding his footwear in his hand, rushed towards the front benches. He was restrained by Pattali Makkal Katchi whip T. Vel Murugan and a few others. All the AIADMK members were on their feet, and some of them raised slogans against the Speaker and the ruling party.

    Members of the AIADMK and the ruling party gesticulated at each other. Following repeated appeals from senior Ministers, the ruling party members finally calmed down.

    As the AIADMK members continued their protest, the Speaker ordered their eviction even as Mr. Sengottaiyan announced a walkout.

    Resolution passed

    Later, a resolution moved in the House to suspend R. Viswanathan, C.V. Shanmugham, V.T. Kalairajan and V. Jayaraman was passed by a voice vote.